Skip to main content




The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) fulfills federal requirements for assessing the English language proficiency of ELLS in kindergarten through grade 12 in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. TELPAS reports student performance in terms of four English language proficiency levels: beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high. TELPAS results are used in accountability and performance-based monitoring indicators. The assessment components for grades K-1 and 2-12 include the following:

  • Grades K-1
    • holistically rated observational assessment of listening, speaking, reading, and writing based on classroom observations
  • Grades 2-12
    • multiple -choice online reading test in six grade clusters: 2,3, 4-5,6-7,8-9, and 10-12
    • online listening and speaking test
    • holistically rated student writing collections

TELPAS Alternate

TEA has developed the TELPAS Alternate assessment to meet the federal requirements mandated under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), which requires states to administer an alternate English language proficiency (ELP) assessment for English learners (ELs) with the most significant cognitive disabilities who cannot participate in the general ELP assessment, even with allowable accommodations.